Produce More Than You Consume

We consume a lot.  At least I do.  Way too much for my liking.  Last night I was watching YouTube videos.  Even though it was not television, it was just a replacement for it, and I found myself consuming.  The weeks that I was learning the Japanese writing system, I was telling myself, that I was doing well, and not spending my time watching television.  But I fall back to it so easily.

I heard once that productive people produce more than they consume.  Makes sense.  But I really have to watch myself to see exactly how much I’m consuming, and when I’m doing it.  Today, for instance, I decided that my computer time was better spent creating a set of beginning music lessons for guitar; possibly for the daughter of a friend of mine, who just got a guitar.  I decided that I could spend my time consuming, i.e. surfing the net, reading garbage on the net, filling my mind with garbage from YouTube and such, but instead I decided to produce and not consume.  It was a conscious decision.

I’m trying to get a little more fit too.  And stop poisoning my body with chips, cookies and coffee.  I’ve been doing quite well for over three weeks, but even last night I was eating quite a lot; definately more than my body needed; and I was telling myself it was not junk food.  However that’s not good enough.  I need to stop overconsuming.

As I said in my last post, we need very little.  I think I read that Buddhists try to eat in the morning and later, but nothing at night, and to keep their meals very modest.

Consumption is not a good thing.  While consuming (watching TV), our advertisements and news programs will tell you it is good; it increases the GNP, and apparently that’s supposed to be a good thing.  Well I have my doubts.  We don’t need more GNP or even personal income.  The more we have, the worse the problem seems to get.  Consumption begets more consumption.

Hmm, how to live modestly.  I don’t know.  I’ll have to turn that one over to my higher power.

About SunKing2

Former web developer, guitar player, started Piano 2012 -yes still doing it! Recovery, sobriety, mental health advocate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

