Read More Than You Write and Avoidance

I think I heard on TV (must have been a long time ago coz I watched just several hours of TV in the last 8 years,) the following comment on an author:

He’s the only author I know who writes more than he reads.

There’s food for thought.  If you want to be a great musician, you have to listen to a lot of music; certainly spend more time listening to music than you do practicing.  The same goes for reading/writing.

So why do I find that at the end of the day, my practice time seems to have been all over the place, and that I didn’t accomplish a lot?  I suppose because I let myself get distracted very easily, and I do something adjunct to practicing.  Like say I am practicing several lines on piano.  Then my mind says you can do this better if you enter the notes into the computer, it’ll only take 10 minutes to do that.  So I start entering the notes, and while I’m there, I start surfing for prices on music books, and you know the rest.

So the stuff I intended to practice for the day kinda gets lost (or nonexistent) in the tangential stuff.

Words for today are adjunct and tangential.  I should really look them up in a dictionary and see if I used them correctly.  Oh wait, that would make me delay the completion of the post because I got sidetracked.

Oh this post is cutting into my practice time.  I’m not well yet.

About SunKing2

Former web developer, guitar player, started Piano 2012 -yes still doing it! Recovery, sobriety, mental health advocate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

