Our Morals are Fine When They Suit Us, and Excessive Guilt = Judgments

Boy, did I get some good readings today.  Listen up…

People adamantly refuse to change their most basic beliefs, but they change their morals […] at the drop of a hat, to suit the situation.  For example, most people hold a basic belief that God wants them to be honest.  Then they cheat on their taxes — and say it’s okay. [Walsch]

Wow, the truth comes out, and it hurts.  I claim to do morning readings, walk for 40 minutes a day, write my five gratitudes, and don’t cross the street unless the light indicates to walk, yet there are countless times, even in this month that I’ve conveniently made it OK to break these rules of mine.  The only thing I’ve stuck with is meditation, which I already commented on can be a struggle.

Now the other reading:

[…] excessive guilt […] was nothing but a sort of reverse pride.  A decent regret for what has happened is fine, he said.  But guilt, no.  I’ve since learned that condemning ourselves for mistakes we’ve made is just as bad as condemning others for theirs.  We’re not really equipped to make judgments, not even of ourselves. […] May I recognize that long-term guilt may imply an exaggerated idea of my own importance, as well as present self-righteousness.  May God alone be my judge. [Hazelden]

About SunKing2

Former web developer, guitar player, started Piano 2012 -yes still doing it! Recovery, sobriety, mental health advocate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

