Playing While Sick and Endless Repetitions.

I’ve got a sore neck.  I’ve had it for weeks.  It could be due to my practicing, or due to my less than ideal computer chair.  I have to do something about those things.  I think I’ll just abandon my chair and use another one for both purposes.  We’ll know in a week. 

Tomorrow is the last lesson before summer, and lately I had some crazy ideas that I should give piano a break, but I doubt I will.  I think the reasons were pain.  But hopefully I can resolve that with a change of furniture.  Maybe I should move back to my bedroom window; I never had neck pain there.  I probably will do that.

Yesterday I started practice and just seemed to be getting nowhere.  I decided that my cold was interfering with it, and remembered that I shouldn’t practice while sick.  (Your body needs all it’s energy to fight the illness, and practice is very physically demanding).  So I quit after 15 minutes and went to bed most of the day.  Today I’m not so lethargic, but I probably practiced too much anyway.

The way I practiced today was not very fruitful.  I tend to do this from time to time: repeat a part of a piece dozens of times, because I just can’t seem to get it.  I’ll have to stop doing that; it’s very ineffective, and probably counter-productive.

About SunKing2

Former web developer, guitar player, started Piano 2012 -yes still doing it! Recovery, sobriety, mental health advocate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

