Spiritual Development of the World: Focus on the Change

I was inspired to change things. Today. Now. Maybe from now on.

It might be nice to spend my life being of genuine use to people. It might be nice to forget the day-to-day trivialities, the pettiness in the world, the news, and concentrate on helping people effect changes in their spiritual development.

Why have I been posting about computer stuff? I could be posting about real stuff.

focus3

So I have 2 stories. An inspirational web site, and my own experience jamming with friends.

1. Heather MacDonald’s Facebook page is inspiring.  I’d love to have a Facebook page just like that…  Totally oriented towards spiritual growth and growth in others; no silly postings about stuff that doesn’t matter.  Maybe I’ll start now.  Maybe.  Turns out we went to the same schools and moved to Ottawa. Here’s her post:

A year from now, everything you are stressing about won’t even matter […]

What matters is making the music, not the state of the nation

2. The other is my jam session on Saturday with some friends.  I’ve not been able to leave the house much lately, and I made the effort, but it was moving.  We did stuff that was important.  We made music with each other.  I went home and thought about how I hear from people their gripes with politics, the state of the world, and I think how little this matters.  What matters is making the music.

I don’t know why,  but it’s the same when you write, make art, sing, dance, draw.  If you can create, you really should create.  Spend less time on the trivial.  Less time on the petty.  Do it now.  Stop reading.  Write a few lines on your blog or your social media. Right now.

What would it be like if my social media from now on consisted of this formula?: If it’s not inspirational, and not helpful to others’ spiritual growth, I won’t post it; and I won’t “like” it.

Practice (music/art): accretion of time over the long run by daily practice is far better than “spurts” approach

It seems to take a huge investment in time to become even moderately good in some things.

Like piano practice, or reading a new book, we may approach it with enthusiasm, commit ourselves to spending 3 hours a day with it, but what happens?  We fizzle out.  I’ll find myself web surfing or doing some silly semi-related task, but not practicing.

Turns out that we might benefit by doing something sustainable, like 10 or 15 minutes a day.  That way, on tough days we are looking only at “I have to do this for 10 minutes, and so it’ll be over with quickly”

“binge” writers write between 2 and 12 hours in one day, but then do not return to writing for a week or more verses more regular writers who write for short periods but write every day) […] One assumption is that writers are most productive if they write when the mood hits … they can spend hours of uninterrupted time at the task, i.e. “binge writing.”. Conclusion: Daily writers are more productive than binge writers and generated more creative ideas for writing than did subjects who wrote spontaneously” Challenge Common Assumptions Against Daily Writing (2012) Dr. Sally

Ten minutes a day is sustainable, and the accretion of time over the long run by daily practice is far better than “spurts” approach.

I meditate each morning for 8 to 10 minutes.  Many days I really, really don’t want to.   But it is such a small investment.

The first two hours of the day are the most productive.  Don’t waste them.

About SunKing2

Former web developer, guitar player, started Piano 2012 -yes still doing it! Recovery, sobriety, mental health advocate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spiritual Development of the World: Focus on the Change

  1. Pingback: Regular Daily Practice, Blessing Other People’s Blessings | Connected Web

Leave a Reply

